West Virginia Wrestling

National Federation of State High Schools Association
Active Award

The National Federation of State High School Associations presents awards annually to coaches for their dedication, commitment to excellence and promotion the ideals of interscholastic athletics.

The WVSSAC recoginizes these coaches for their contribution to the development of young people across our state.

2002 Mark Delligatti, Fairmont Senior
2003 Sterling Beane, Braxton County
2004 Larry Shaw, Oak Glen - Sectional winner
2005 *Bill Archer, Huntington - Sectional winner
2006 Garry Bender, Roane County
2007 *Bill Whittington, Hedgesville - Sectional winner
2008 Mike Stump, Calhoun County
2009 Jack Cullen, Point Pleasant
2010 John Geary, East Fairmont
2011 Ken Maisel, University
2012 Rob Archer, Huntington
2015 Chad Sarrett, Woodrow Wilson
2016 Cliff Warden, Independence
2017 John Bonecutter, Point Pleasant (also, 2016 NFCA Mid-East Sectional Coach of the Year)

*National Coach of the Year Finalists

Return to the WV-Mat front page