Virginia High School Wrestling]

Woodrow Wilson High School

Flying Eagles -- Wrestling

2014-15 Schedule AT THIS LINK

Woodrow Wilson has a rich tradition in wrestling. The Flying Eagles won WV State Championships in 1949, 1952 and 1954 under National Hall of Fame Coach Vic Peelish. Woodrow Wilson also has produced 29 individual State Champions and numerous state place winners.

Woodrow Wilson's individual State Champions are:

(Under-Coach Vic Peelish)
1948 - Thomas Radford, Dave Friley, and Zernie Wickline
1949 - Kermit Johnson, Bob Odell, Billy Lilly, Ken Rathburn, Dave Friley, Nick Rahal, J.D. Kidd and Jim Catto
1950 - Bill Maxey and Mike Techak-2X
1951 - Pat Dehart
1952 - Carroll Britton and Mike Techak
1953 - Tom Slator-2X
1954 - John Summers and Tom Slator
1955 - John Summers and Bill Gurack
1960 - Racine Thompson and Russell Walls
1962 - Tom Vidovich
1968 - Shirley Campbell

(Under-Coach Mike Tyree)
1978 - Larry Maiolo

(Under-Coach Jerry Zaferatos)
1985 - Marvin Lawson
1987 - Chet Toney

(Under - Coach Phil Bartrum)
1999 - Matt Callahan

Woodrow Wilson's feeder programs are Park Middle School and the Beckley Junior Eagles.

Jump to the Woodrow Wilson High School Home Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page
Return to the list of teams
Return to the AAA region map