West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker

March 12, 2014

The OVAC Wrestling Coaches Association recognizes the Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year at the end of every mat sport season.

Dr. Bill Welker, who conceived and initiated the award in 1988, chairs a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts that selects the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Bill Hinegardner and Ron Mauck. The Ohio representatives are Dick Wolf and Dr. Dan Doyle.

Today, the membership has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 27th Annual "OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year."

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Caldwell's Kameron Rayner and Jonny Davis of Wheeling Park.

* Two-Time Ohio All-State Wrestler (2013-14)
* Two-Time District Placewinner (2013-14)
* OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Champion at 138 pounds (2014)
* Three-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Placewinner (2012-13-14)
* Career Record: 158-29
* Senior Record: 49-5
* Grade Point Average: 3.00
* Future Aspirations: Kameron plans to pursue a career in the Welding Trade.
* Head Coach: Tom Brown
* Assistant Coaches: Dustin Robison, Justin Seebach, Ken Robison, Jacob Border, and Steve Waller.

* Two-Time West Virginia All-State Wrestler (2013-14)
* West Virginia Region I Champion (2013)
* Three-Time OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Placewinner (2012-13-14)
* OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Champion (2014)
* OVAC Bierkortte Outstanding Wrestler Award (2014)
* Career Record: 112-37
* Senior Record: 32-6
* Career Plans: Jonny Davis has enlisted into the Marine Corps and will be leaving for boot camp at Parris Island, SC
* Head Coach: Jack Doyle
* Assistant Coaches: Justin Goneau, Clay Tucker, and Steve Shaffer. Mat Salute
Special "kudos" are addressed to the following 2014 OVAC individual state champion - Wheeling Park's Dylan Taylor.

Coaching Honors
Congratulations to Parkersburg's Coach Donna Dixon, her staff, and the "Patriot" wrestling team for winning the 2014 Ron Mauck OVAC Over-All Team Title.

Official's Corner
This year four OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament. They are Shane Kildow, Ray Marling, and Ken McWilliams in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio.

Many congratulations are extended to all four of these fine OVAC officials.

Larry Deaton, the dean of Ohio Valley wrestling officials, served as supervisor of the score table officials at the West Virginia State Championships.

Mat Message
"He who is only an athlete is too crude, too vulgar, too much of a savage. He who is a scholar only is too soft. The ideal citizen is the 'scholar-athlete' - a man of thought and a man of action.
- Plato

The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 - David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South
Jeremy Border, Caldwell

2013 - Lance Hill, Parkersburg South
Alex Quinn, Shadyside

2014 - Jonny Davis, Wheeling Park
Kameron Rayner, Caldwell

Return to the WV-Mat front page