West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker

August 4, 2015

The OVAC Wrestling Coaches Association recognizes the Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year at the end of every mat sport season.

Dr. Bill Welker, who conceived and initiated the award in 1988, chairs a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling dignitaries that selects the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Bill Hinegardner and Ron Mauck. The Ohio representatives are Dick Wolf and Dr. Dan Doyle.

Today, the membership has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 28th Annual "OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year."

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Wellsville's Seth Bloor and Dallas Baciak of Wheeling Park.

* Ohio State Division III Silver Medalist (2015)
* Two-Time Ohio State Division III Qualifier (2014-2015)
* Two-Time District Placewinner (2014-15)
* Ohio District Champion (2015)
* OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Champion at 285 pounds (2015)
* Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Placewinner (2012-13-14-15)
* Career Record: 153-21 (88.0 winning percentage)
* School Record Holder for Most Wins (153)
* Senior Record: 47-2
* Career Plans: College
* Head Coach: Scott Hiemstra
* Assistant Coaches: Chuck Spencer and Josh Stansbury

* West Virginia State Champion (2015)
* Two-Time West Virginia State Runner-Up (2013 & 2014)
* Three-Time WV Region I AAA Champion (2013-14-15)
* Three-Time OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Placewinner (2013-14-15)
* Two-Time OVAC Ron Mauck Tournament Champion (2014 & 2015)
* North Canton and Firn Creek HS (KY) Champion & MVP
* Career Record: 128-14 (90.1 winning percentage)
* Senior Record: 44-0 (one of three WV undefeated matmen)
* Career Plans: Undecided.
* Head Coach: Jack Doyle
* Assistant Coaches: Justin Goneau, Clay Tucker, and Steve

Mat Salute
Special "kudos" are addressed to Wheeling Park High School's Dylan Taylor, who won his second West Virginia AAA State Championship this year, as well as his MVP performance at the OVAC vs. MAC All-Star Meet where the OVAC All-Stars won 39-18.

Coaching Honors
Congratulations to Parkersburg's Coach Donna Dixon, her staff, and the "Patriot" wrestling team for winning the 2015 Ron Mauck OVAC Over-All Team Title, breaking the team scoring recond.

Official's Corner
This year four OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament. They are Shane Kildow, Ray Marling, Jack Regis, and Ken McWilliams in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio. Also, two OVAC officials Paul Coffland and John Jefferis officiated at the Ohio State Championships in Columbus this year. Many congratulations are extended to all seven of these fine OVAC officials.

Mat Message
"He who is only an athlete is too crude, too vulgar, too much of a savage. He who is a scholar only is too soft. The ideal citizen is the 'scholar-athlete' - a man of thought and a man of action.
- Plato


The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 - David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South
Jeremy Border, Caldwell

2013 - Lance Hill, Parkersburg South
Alex Quinn, Shadyside

2014 - Jonny Davis, Wheeling Park
Kameron Rayner, Caldwell

2015 - Dallas Baciak, Wheeling Park
Seth Bloor, Wellsville

Return to the WV-Mat front page