West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker, National Wrestling Hall of Famer
and Rick Welker


by Dr. Bill Welker

Today, I have the extreme pleasure of announcing Wheeling News-Register's 24th Annual "OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year."

The honorees are determined by a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts, which includes and is chaired by yours truly. As always, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Hinegardner (1984 Mr. Mat), Ron Mauck (1986 Mr. Mat), Dan Doyle (2005 Mr. Mat), and Dick Wolf for graciously volunteering to serve on this selection board. I have never worked with a more sincere and honorable group of men.

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are St. Clairsville's Dominic Prezzia and Wheeling Park's Kyle Bauer.

Dominic Prezzia
* 2011 Ohio Division III State Silver Medalist
* Three-Time Ohio All-State (4th-2009; 3rd-2010)
* Three-Time District Champion
* Four-Time Sectional Champion * 2011 Ron Mauck OVAC Champion
* Four-Time OVAC Finalist
* Career Record: 166-14
* Senior Record: 46-1
* Grade Point Average: 3.6
* College Aspirations: Dominic received a wrestling scholarship from West Virginia University. He plans to study exercise physiology and become a physical therapist.
* Head Coach: Joel Sansone
* Assistant Coaches: Gene Monteleone, Casey Callarik, & Paul Prezzia

Kyle Bauer
* Two-Time West Virginia AAA State Champion (2010-2011)
* 2011 West Virginia AAA Outstanding Wrestler
* Four-Time West Virginia AAA Region I Champion (2008-2011)
* Four-Time West Virginia All-State Wrestler
* Two-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Champion (2010-2011)
* 2011 OVAC Bierkortte Outstanding Wrestler Award
* Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Placewinner
* Career Record: 150-9
* Senior Record: 27-0
* Grade Point Average: 4.0
* College Aspirations: Kyle plans to matriculate at Kent State University as an Education Major. He also plans to continue wrestling with hopes of being a National Champion.
* Head Coach: Sean Doyle
* Assistant Coaches: Jack Doyle, Steve Shaffer, Malachai Anthony, Bill Gooch, and Justin Goneau Mat Salute

Special "kudos" are addressed to the following 2011 OVAC individual state champs:
West Virginia: David Jeffrey and Chris Smith, Parkersburg South; David Schlieper, Cameron; Jesse Schiffbauer, University; Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park.

Coaching Honors
Congratulations to Parkersburg South's Coach Paul Jackson, his staff, and the "Patriot" wrestling team for winning the 2011 Ron Mauck OVAC Over-All Team Title and the West Virginia AAA State Championships.

Official's Corner
This year five OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia and Ohio state wrestling tournaments. They are Shane Kildow, Ray Marling, and Ken McWilliams in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio, and Paul Coffland in the Buckeye State.

Special accolades are extended to Shane Kildow who was named the West Virginia and Barry Gashel Official of the Year.

Many congratulations are extended to all five of these fine OVAC officials.

Mat Message
"Few wishes come true by themselves."
- June Smith


By Dr. Bill Welker

The Wheeling News-Register will announce the 2011 OVAC Wrestlers of the Year next Sunday. The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

Return to the West Virginia Mat Thoughts Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page