West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker

March 21, 2018

The OVAC Wrestling Coaches Association recognizes the Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year at the end of every mat sport season.

Dr. Bill Welker, who conceived and initiated the award in 1988, chairs a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling dignitaries that selects the honorees. The West Virginia representatives are Bill Hinegardner and Ron Mauck The Ohio representatives are Dick Wolf and Dr. Dan Doyle.

Today, the committee has the extreme pleasure of announcing the 31th Annual "OVAC West Virginia and Ohio Wrestlers of the Year."

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Parkersburg South's Josh Humphreys and Steubenville's Jashon Hubbard.

* Four-Time West Virginia AAA State Champion & Two-Time State AAA Outstanding Wrestler
* The 18th Four-Time State Titleist in West Virginia History
* Four-Time Regional Champion
* 2018 Ron Mauck OVAC Champion & Bierkortte Award Winner
* Career Record: 168-7 with 125 Falls
* Senior Record: 49-2
* Future Plans: Josh plans to attend and wrestle at Lehigh University.
* Head Coach: Shaun Smith
* Assistant Coaches: Dave Jeffrey, Dean Moore, Andy Church, Bruce Martin, Tyler Green, David Jeffrey, John Price

* Four-Time Ohio State Division II All-State Medalist (2015-3rd; 2016-4th; 2017-3rd; 2018-2nd)
* Three-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Champion
* Four-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Place-winner
* Two-Time Ohio District Champion
* Career Record: 170-13
* Senior Record: 53-2
* Future Plans: Jashon plans to attend and wrestle at Ohio State University.
* Head Coach: Mike Blackburn
* Assistant Coaches: Cornell Birden, Lucas Huffman, and Seth Fluherty.

Coaching Honors

Congratulations to Parkersburg South's Coach Shaun Smith, his staff, and the "Patriot" wrestling team for winning the 2018 Ron Mauck OVAC Tournament and the 2018 West Virginia AAA State Championship! Also, many kudos to Jamie Lesho, his staff, and the Weirton Madonna "Dons" on winning their first West Virginia Class A State Wrestling Championship!

Official's Corner

This year three OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia State Wrestling Tournament. They are Shane Kildow, Jim Copney, and Ken McWilliams, along with former area official Chris Diserio.

Also, three OVAC officials were selected for states in Ohio: Shane Kildow, Paul Coffland, and Ray Jefferies. Jack Regis, the local secretary of the Ohio Valley Wrestling Officials Association, was a table captain during the Ohio state championships. Many congratulations are extended to all eight of these fine OVAC officials.


The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 - David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South
Jeremy Border, Caldwell

2013 - Lance Hill, Parkersburg South
Alex Quinn, Shadyside

2014 - Jonny Davis, Wheeling Park
Kameron Rayner, Caldwell

2015 - Dallas Baciak, Wheeling Park
Seth Bloor, Wellsville

2016 - Isaiah Myers, Wheeling Park
Tariq Wilson, Steubenville

2017 - Justin Allman, Parkersburg South
Greg Quinn, Shadyside

2018 - Josh Humphreys, Parkersburg South
Jashon Hubbard, Steubenville

Return to the WV-Mat front page