WLU Wrestlers Roll on Special Night

November 5, 2016

WEST LIBERTY, W.Va. – The West Liberty University wrestling turned in a dominating performance in its season opener here Saturday night, steamrolling its way to a 42-7 blowout of Washington & Jefferson before a raucous crowd at the ASRC.

It was a special night for many long-time Hilltopper wrestling fans as they welcomed some familiar faces from the tradition-laden program back to campus. Several members of West Liberty's 1995 NAIA national runner-up wrestling team along with their coaches were brought onto the mat during a pause in the action for a special ceremony.

After the former wrestlers and coaches were introduced to the crowd, all eyes turned to the wall at the end of the arena for the official unveiling of a new banner commemorating the team's national runner-up finish – touching off the loudest ovation of the night.

Coach Mitch Smith's current Hilltopper wrestlers more than held up their end of the bargain on the mat, posting wins in eight of the 10 weight classes against a W&J squad coming off a Top 20 finish in last year's NCAA Division III Nationals.

Four of West Liberty's victories came via pinfall. Nationally-ranked senior Zach Brown got things going with a first-period pin at 125 and WLU's other senior, regionally-ranked DeMadre Turner, also notched a pin at 165. The Black and Gold's other pins came from Logan Kemp (197) and Chris Cook (285).

Scoring decisions for the hosts were Cameron Zuber with a 9-5 win at 141 and Josh Cornell, who prevailed by a 6-4 count at 149.

The Hilltoppers return to the ASRC mat on Wednesday for a big early-season test against No. 3-ranked Pitt-Johnstown. First match is set for a 7 p.m. start at the ASRC.

West Liberty 42, Washington & Jefferson 7
125: Zach Brown (WLU) p. Michael Smith, 1:30
133: Bryce Humphreys (WLU) won by forfeit
141: Cameron Zuber (WLU) d. Michael Heinl, 9-5
149: Josh Cornell (WLU) d. Daniel Pommerer, 6-4
157: Sam Florentino (W&J) d. Ryan Dailey, 3-2
165: DeMadre Turner (WLU) p. Alex Miller, 6:51
174: Sonnieboy Blanco (W&J) md. Milton Kobaly, 18-8
184: Nathan Dawson (WLU) won by forfeit
197: Logan Kemp (WLU) p. William Oberschelp, 2:44
285: Chris Cook (WLU) p. Nick Kumburis, 6:07

Return to the WV-Mat front page