Three Mountaineers Take Titles

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. November 8, 2003 West Virginia University sent six wrestlers to the finals at the 22nd annual WVU Open Saturday afternoon in the Shell Building. Joe Clarke (141), Matt Lebe (157) and Brent Miller (HWT) swept their brackets en route to earning tournament titles.

Clarke, a transfer from Princeton, scored a 15-8 decision over Dewitt Driscoll of Penn State in the finals. Lebe, a sophomore, won five matches including a pin against Al Moreno of Mercyhurst to open the tournament on his way to taking the 157-weight class. Miller, a junior, capped off a five-win day with an 8-5 decision over Tom Curl.

Three WVU grapplers also advanced to the final four of their respective brackets. Seniors Casey Brewster (125), Mike Torriero (149) and junior Matt Daddino (197) all posted runner-up finishes for WVU.

Similarly impressive were sophomore Eric Mullen (165) and freshman Jeff Courtney (197) who were victorious through their first three matches.

Several Mountaineers posted solid performances by winning their opening two matches. Nathan Kendjorsky (125), Trevor Braxton (133), Nino Paglia (133), Ryan Wilman (174), Jonathan Tranquillo (184) each won two for West Virginia.

This year's WVU Open produced a tournament record number of participants. Over 450 wrestlers gathered to participate in the WVU Open.

The Mountaineers return to action Saturday, Nov. 22, at the Navy Classic in Annapolis, Md.

Championship Match Scores:
125A: Coleman Scott (unatt Waynesburg HS) dec. Mike Sees (unatt Edinboro), 8-3
125B: Adam Smith (unatt Penn State) dec. Casey Brewster (unatt West Virginia), 6-3
133A: Josh Moore (unatt Penn State) dec. Shawn Bunch (unatt Edinboro),4-2
133B: Thad Benton (Pitt-Johnstown) pinned Cliff Smith (Buffalo), 4:00
141A: Joe Clarke (unatt West Virginia) dec. Dewitt Driscoll (unatt Penn State),15-8
141B: Dustin Schlatter (Ohio Boyz) dec. Frank Edgar (unatt Clarion), 7-4
149A: Mike Maney (unatt Lock Haven) dec. Wayne French (unatt Tennessee Chattanooga), 10-2
149B: Travis Piccard (The Citadel) dec. Mike Torriero (unatt West Virginia), 6-4
157A: Charlie Brenneman (unatt Lock Haven) dec. Mike Parsons (Virginia Military Institute), 3-0
157B: Matt Lebe (unatt West Virginia) dec. Jake Yost (unatt Tennessee Chattanooga), 3-1 DQ
165A: Troy Letters (Lehigh) dec. Jason Cardillo (unatt Slippery Rock), 20-5
165B: Christ Stith (unatt Virginia Tech) dec. Albert Miles (unatt Pitt Johnstown), 5-2
174A: Mark Himes (unatt Duquesne) dec. John Ptak (Mercyhurst), 7-3
174B: Keith Clifton (The Citadel) dec. Dominic Buckman (Appalachian State), 5-2
184A: Adam Wright (unatt Old Dominion) dec. Ben McAvinew (Mercyhurst), 3-1
184B: Daniel Waters (unatt American) dec. John Burda (Pitt-Johnstown), 5-3
197A: Matt Cassidy (unatt Lehigh) dec. Ryan Chulda (unatt Bloomsburg), 4-1
197B: Morgan Horner (unatt Lock Haven) dec. Matt Daddino (West Virginia), 1-0
285A: Brent Miller (unatt West Virginia) dec. Tom Curl (unatt), 8-5
285B: Jordan Everett (The Citadel) dec. Jon Richard (unatt Gardner Webb), 9-2

Brackets available at