Fifteen Earn EWL Academic Honors

March 10, 2004

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – The Mountaineer wrestling team landed 15 wrestlers on the 2003-04 Eastern Wrestling League All-Academic Team.

“Having this number of academic award winners, along with a Top 15 national ranking by the NWCA in three out of the last four years, shows we are recruiting quality student-athletes,” says WVU head coach Craig Turnbull. “Our support services have done an excellent job of providing the resources for our guys to be successful both on the mat and in the classroom.”

West Virginia’s 15 grapplers were the most among EWL institutions. Those making the EWL All-Academic Team were Teddy Adams (Fr.), Eric Colpo (Fr.), Steve Colpo (Fr.), Troy Forte (So.), Zac Fryling (Fr.), Greg Jones (Jr.), Nathan Kendjorsky (So.), Brandon Lauer (Jr.), Matt Lebe (So.), Nate Lingle (So.), Eric Mullen (So.), Nino Paglia (Fr.), Brendan Raedy (Fr.), Doug Studenic (Jr.) and John Tranquillo (Fr.).

Three of the seven Mountaineer award winners have advanced to the 2004 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in St. Louis on March 18-21. Lebe and Jones make their second and third respective appearances while true freshman Fryling makes his first NCAA appearance.

Return to the WV-Mat WVU Main Page