Big 12 Pre-Seeds Announced

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. (Feb. 27, 2017) Pre-seeds for the 2017 Big 12 Wrestling Championship were announced by the league office on Monday. The event is set for March 4-5 at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Jacob A. Smith enters the tournament as the top seed at 197 pounds. Ranked No. 5 in his weight class, Smith rides a 12-match win streak into the postseason. He is 18-4 on the season and 4-0 versus Big 12 opponents. The 2017 season marks the second time he has entered the Big 12 Championship as the No. 1 seed, as he did so in 2016 as well.

Dylan Cottrell was announced as the No. 2 seed at 165 pounds. Missing part of the season due to injury, Cottrell ended the year on a seven-match win streak with a 15-4 overall record. He finished the regular season ranked at No. 10 via InterMat and at No. 15 according to FloWrestling.

Cory Stainbrook is the No. 6 seed at 133 pounds after posting a 13-12 overall record with a 3-2 mark in Big 12 action. Joe Wheeling and Christian Monserrat enter the tournament at the No. 7 seeds at 141 and 149 pounds, respectively. Wheeling registered seven wins on the season, while Monserrat posted 13 victories.

All 10 schools will place a wrestler in each weight class. The seeds, as voted by the conference coaches and approved at the pre-championship coaches meeting on Friday, will compete over two days for 38 automatic qualifying bids to the NCAA Championship, as well as the 2017 Big 12 Championship team title.

Oklahoma State leads the way with six top-seeded wrestlers, while South Dakota State recorded two. North Dakota State and West Virginia each have one wrestler in the top spot.

For more information on the Big 12 Wrestling Championship, visit The first three sessions will be streamed exclusively on FloWrestling, with FSN broadcasting the championship rounds live.

Follow @WVUSports and @WVUWrestling on Twitter

125 1. Josh Rodriguez (NDSU) 2. Nick Piccininni (OSU) 3. Drew Templeman (WYO) 4. Christian Moody (OU) 5. Kyle Larson (ISU) 6. Trey Andrews (UNC) 7. Ben Gillette (SDSU) 8. Mitch Brown (UVU) 9. Drew Romero (AF) 10. Devin Brown (WVU)

133 1. Seth Gross (SDSU) 2. Kaid Brock (OSU) 3. Earl Hall (ISU) 4. Cam Sykora (NDSU) 7. Rico Montoya (UNC) 6. Cory Stainbrook (WVU) 7. Dylan Hyder (AF) 8. Jarod Maynes (UVU) 9. Trae Blackwell (OU) 10. Ronnie Stevens (WYO)

141 1. Dean Heil (OSU) 2. Bryce Meredith (WYO) 3. Mike Longo (OU) 4. Timmy Box (UNC) 5. John Meeks (ISU) 6. Trevor Willson (UVU) 7. Joe Wheeling (WVU) 8. John Twomey (AF) 9. Taylor Nein (NDSU) 10. Henry Pohlomeyer (SDSU)

149 1. Anthony Collica (OSU) 2. Alex Kocer (SDSU) 3. Davion Jeffries (OU) 4. Cole Mendenhall (WYO) 5. Grant LaMont (UVU) 6. Jerry McGinty (AFA) 7. Christian Monserrat (WVU) 8. Mitch Friedman (NDSU) 9. Ben Polkowske (UNC) 10. Gabe Moreno (ISU)

157 1. Joe Smith (OSU) 2. Clay Ream (NDSU) 3. Clark Glass (OU) 4. Archie Colgan (WYO) 5. Alex Mossing (AF) 6. Colston Diblasi (ISU) 7. Logan Peterson (SDSU) 8. Raider Lofthouse (UVU) 9. Jimmy Fate (UNC) 10. Dayton Garrett (WVU)

165 1. Chandler Rogers (OSU) 2. Dylan Cottrell (WVU) 3. Branson Ashworth (WYO) 4. Luke Zilverberg (SDSU) 5. Yoanse Mejias (OU) 6. Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) 7. Rickey Padilla (AF) 8. Keilan Torres (UNC) 9. Koy Wilkinson (UVU) 10. Logan Breitenback (ISU)

174 1. David Kocer (SDSU) 2. Kyle Crutchmer (OSU) 3. Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) 4. Kimball Bastian (UVU) 5. Matt Reed (OU) 6. Kyle Pope (WYO) 7. Michael Billingsley (AF) 8. Dylan Urbach (NDSU) 9. Dalton Robertson (UNC) 10. Ty Millward (WVU)

184 1. Nolan Boyd (OSU) 2. Dylan Gabel (UNC) 3. Martin Mueller (SDSU) 4. Carson Powell (ISU) 5. Tyler McNutt (NDSU) 6. Parker VonEgidy (WVU) 7. Lucas Lovvorn (WYO) 8. Andrew Dixon (OU) 9. Zen Ikehara (AF) 10. Able Gomez (UVU)

197 1. Jacob A. Smith (WVU) 2. Nate Rotert (SDSU) 3. Preston Weigel (OSU) 4. Anthony McLaughlin (AF) 5. Brad Johnson (OU) 6. Tanner Orndorff (UVU) 7. Cordell Eaton (NDSD) 8. Marcus Harrington (ISU) 9. Luke Paine (WYO) 10. Jamarcus Grant (UNC)

Heavywight 1. Austin Shafer (OSU) 2. Ross Larson (OU) 3. Dustin Dennison (UVU) 4. Ben Tynan (NDSU) 5. Quean Smith (ISU) 6. Brandon Tribble (WYO) 7. Alex Macki (SDSU) 8. Kerry Powers (AF) 9. Jack Kuck (UNC) 10. Brandon Ngati (WVU)

Return to the WV-Mat front page