West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker, National Wrestling Hall of Famer
and Rick Welker


by Dr. Bill Welker

Today, I have the extreme pleasure of announcing Wheeling News-Register's 25th Annual "OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year."

The honorees are determined by a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts, which includes and is chaired by yours truly. As always, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Hinegardner (1984 Mr. Mat), Ron Mauck (1986 Mr. Mat), Dan Doyle (2005 Mr. Mat), and Dick Wolf for graciously volunteering to serve on this selection board. I have never worked with a more sincere and honorable group of men.

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Parkersburg South's David Jeffrey and Jeremy Border of Caldwell.

* Four-Time WV Virginia AAA State Champion (2009 to 2012)
* Four-Time WV AAA Region I Champion (2009 to 2012)
* Three-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Champion (2010 to 2012)
* 2012 OVAC Bierkortte Outstanding Wrestler Award
* 2011 Wheeling Park Duals Outstanding Wrestler Award
* High School Wrestling All-American
* All-Time Career Win Leader for OVAC, Parkersburg South, and WV AAA Division
* Career Record: 214-9
* Senior Record: 61-2
* Grade Point Average: 4.6
* College Aspirations: Has signed to wrestle at Lehigh University, majoring in Biology.
* Head Coach: Paul Jackson
* Assistant Coaches: Gary Porter, Kevin Dixon, Chris Hill, David Jeffrey, Jeremy Layner, Dean Moore, Chad Porter, Kenney Richards, Chris Smith

Jeremy Border
* Four-Time Ohio State Placewinner (2009 to 2012)
* 2012 OVAC Champion
* Three-Time OVAC Silver Medalist (2009 to 2011)
* Three-Time Ohio District Champion (2010 to 2012)
* Four-Time Ohio Sectional Champion (2009 to 2012)
* 2011 Barnesville Invitational Champion
* 2012 West Virginia Duals Champion
* Career Record: 162-12
* Senior Record: 52-3
* Grade Point Average: 3.30
* College Aspirations: Attend Ohio University, wrestle, and major in Criminal Justice
* Head Coach: Tom Brown
* Assistant Coaches: Dustin Robison, Justin Seebach, and Steve Waller

Mat Salute

Special "kudos" are addressed to the following 2012 OVAC individual state champs:

West Virginia: David Jeffrey, Lance Hill, Parkersburg South; Nathan Dawson, Brooke; Christian Roe, Weirton Madonna; Zach Brown and Dylan Davis, Oak Glen.

Coaching Honors

Congratulations to Parkersburg South's Coach Paul Jackson, his staff, and the "Patriot" wrestling team for winning the 2012 Ron Mauck OVAC Over-All Team Title and the West Virginia AAA State Championships.

Official's Corner

This year five OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia and Ohio state wrestling tournaments. They are Shane Kildow, Ray Marling, Ken McWilliams, and Jack Regis in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio, and Don Mason and Steve Kish in the Buckeye State.

Many congratulations are extended to all seven of these fine OVAC officials.

Mat Message
"Never assume the obvious is true."
- William Safire

By Dr. Bill Welker

The Wheeling News-Register will announce the 2011 OVAC Wrestlers of the Year next Sunday. The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:
1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 - David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South
Jeremy Border, Cald

Return to the West Virginia Mat Thoughts Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page