West Virginia Wrestling


by Dr. Bill Welker, National Wrestling Hall of Famer
and Rick Welker


by Dr. Bill Welker

Today, I have the extreme pleasure of announcing Wheeling News-Register's 26th Annual "OVAC Ohio and West Virginia Wrestlers of the Year."

The honorees are determined by a committee of five Ohio Valley wrestling enthusiasts, which includes and is chaired by yours truly. As always, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Bill Hinegardner (1984 Mr. Mat), Ron Mauck (1986 Mr. Mat), Dan Doyle (2005 Mr. Mat), and Dick Wolf for graciously volunteering to serve on this selection board. I have never worked with a more sincere and honorable group of men.

The recipients must be seniors and are chosen on the basis of personal wrestling accomplishments over their entire scholastic careers. This year's winners are Parkersburg South's Lance Hill and Alex Quinn of Shadyside.

* West Virginia AAA State Champion (2012)
* Three-Time West Virginia State Placewinner (2011-12-13)
* Three-Time West Virginia AAA Region I Champion (2011-12-13)
* Three-Time Ron Mauck OVAC Champion (2011-12-13)
* Career Record: 158-22
* Senior Record: 34-4 (19 pins)
* Grade Point Average: 2.75
* College Aspirations: Lance plans to pursue a career in education and coach wrestling.
* Head Coach: Donna Dixon
* Assistant Coaches: Gary Porter, Kevin Dixon, Chris Hill, David Jeffrey, Jeremy Layner, Jason Marks, Dean Moore, Chad Porter, John Price, Kenney Richards, and Shaun Smith.

* 2013 Ohio Division III State Champion
* Two-Time Ohio Division III State Placewinner (2012-2013)
* Two-Time OVAC Champion (2012-2013)
* Two-Time Ohio District Champion (2012to 2013)
* Career Record: 127-6
* Senior Record: 45-0
* Career Plans: Alex is undecided at this time.
* Head Coach: Scott Kinemond
* Assistant Coach: Kurt Glasser

Mat Salute
Special "kudos" are addressed to the following 2013 OVAC individual state champion - Shadyside's Alex Quinn.

Coaching Honors
Congratulations to Steubenville's Coach Mike Blackburn, his staff, and the "Big Red" wrestling team for winning the 2013 Ron Mauck OVAC Over-All Team Title.

Official's Corner
This year four OVAC referees were selected to officiate the West Virginia and Ohio state wrestling tournaments. They are Jim Copney, Ray Marling, and Ken McWilliams in the Mountain State, along with former area official Chris Diserio. Many congratulations are extended to all four of these fine OVAC officials.

Larry Deaton, the dean of Ohio Valley wrestling officials, served as supervisor of the score table officials at the West Virginia State Championships.

Mat Message
"Talent is God-Given; Be Humble.
Fame is Man-Given; Be Grateful.
Conceit is Self-Given; Be Careful."

- John Wooden

OVAC PAST WRESTLERS OF THE YEAR The following are the past Ohio and West Virginia recipients of the prestigious OVAC Wrestlers of the Year Award:

1988 - John Crain, Oak Glen
Rick Burlenski, Bridgeport

1989 - Dave Wood, Cameron
Dunyasha Yetts, Steubenville

1990 - Ed Neely, Weirton Madonna
Babe Sidon, Martins Ferry

1991 - Eric Potts, Cameron
Scott DeYarmon, Buckeye Local

1992 - R. C. Anderson, Cameron
John Gilbeaut, Union Local

1993 - Ryan Dudas, Cameron
Kelly Shields, Edison

1994 - Chad Burge, Cameron
Ryan Slack, Shadyside

1995 - Jason Taylor, Wheeling Park
Brian Roskovich, Bridgeport

1996 - Josh Giovengo, Bishop Donahue
Eric Anderson, Bellaire St. John's

1997 - Dewitt Stanley, Brooke
Sean Doyle, Buckeye Local

1998 - Chad Pratz, Linsly
Travis Clark, Union Local

1999 - Alex McClung, Oak Glen
Matt Salsberry, East Liverpool

2000 - Steve Ochap, Wheeling Park
Scott Roth, Martins Ferry

2001 - Eric Noel, Oak Glen
Cole Bowersock, Beaver Local

2002 - Derrick Sickles, Oak Glen
John Tierney, Martins Ferry

2003 - Phil Bliss, Brooke
David Berolino, Buckeye Local

2004 - Casey Hughes, Cameron
Koel Davia, Union Local

2005 - Dustin Richey, John Marshall
Clay Tucker, Martins Ferry

2006 - Rhett Northcraft, Oak Glen
Willie Saxton, Buckeye Local

2007 - Ronnell Green, Wheeling Park
James Myers, Indian Creek

2008 - Zach Basich, Wheeling Central
Bryan Skoff, Bridgeport

2009 - Dirk Bauer, Wheeling Park
Robbie Chilson, Bellaire

2010 - Max Nogay, Weirton Madonna
Dylan Ice, Beaver Local

2011 - Kyle Bauer, Wheeling Park
Dominic Prezzia, St. Clairsville

2012 - David Jeffrey, Parkersburg South
Jeremy Border, Caldwell

2013 - Lance Hill, Parkersburg South
Alex Quinn, Shadyside

Return to the West Virginia Mat Thoughts Index Page
Return to the WV-Mat front page