…on Coaching Misconduct vs. Coaching Unsportsmanlike Conduct
By Dr. Bill Welker
Do you know the difference between coach misconduct and coach unsportsmanlike conduct? There is a difference. Let me explain.
Coach misconduct occurs when the coach asks for a conference with the official at the score table. While there he either feels the referee has misapplied a rule or is questioning the official's judgment - and is wrong. In tournament competition, coach misconduct could also occur if there are more than two coaches at matside after the official requested that one coach leave the corner.
On the first occurrence, the coach is warned. Next, a team point is deducted. And on the third offense, two team points are deducted and the head coach is removed from the premises, even if the assistant coach committed the infraction. The head coach is removed for the day. If it is a multiple day tournament, the head coach can return the next day.
Coach Unsportsmanlike Conduct
Coach unsportsmanlike conduct is any behavior which becomes abusive or interferes with the orderly progress of the match. It also includes taunting, acts of disrespect or those actions which incite negative reaction from others It could take place before, during or after a match.
First and foremost, there is no warning for coach unsportsmanlike conduct. Instead, a team-point deduction occurs on the initial offense. If the coach continues to act improperly, he is removed from the premises for the rest of the contest and can not return. Two more team points are also deducted.
I hope the above explanations are helpful to you. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to e-mail me at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The objective of wrestling is to pin one's opponent, and a takedown is usually the first step toward this goal.
Statistics, for decades, demonstrate that the wrestler who successfully executives the first takedown in a match wins the bout 85 to 90 percent of the time.
What is a takedown?
To set up a takedown, the wrestlers must be working from the neutral or standing position, a situation where neither wrestler has control.
A takedown is scored when one of the wrestlers gains control over his opponent. The determining factor is causing his opponent's supporting points other than his feet - knees, thighs, buttocks, or hands - to come in contact with the mat under control beyond reaction time (as judged by the official).
Supporting points are defined as the area or areas in which most of the wrestler's body weight is carried.
A wrestler can be awarded a takedown as long as he or his adversary is in-bounds. Remember, the line around the wrestling area is out-of-bounds.
It is also important to understand that a takedown can now be awarded if the scoring wrestler's feet are in-bounds and touching the mat.
The wrestler who scores the takedown is awarded two match points for the maneuver.
Note, the double-leg takedown, single-leg takedown, fireman's carry, arm drag, snap-down and pancake are just a few types of takedown moves.
Q: Wrestler A shoots a double-leg takedown on Wrestler B. At the completion of the takedown, Wrestler B is completely out-of-bounds and only Wrestler A's feet are in-bounds on the mat. Would Wrestler A still be credited with a takedown?
A: Yes. Since both of Wrestler A's feet remained in-bound, he is considered in-bounds and can score the takedown.
"When you say a situation or a person is hopeless, you are slamming the door in the face of God."
-- Rev. Charles L. Allen
(Dr. Bill Welker can be reached via e-mail at: email@example.com)